Staten Island Chamber hosts Police Office of the Year luncheon

The luncheon honored 2016’s top police officers from Staten Island

The Staten Island Chamber of Commerce and sponsors Gerald Peters Inc. and Sottile Security International Inc. hosted the annual Police Officer of the Year Luncheon on Wednesday, July 12 at Historic Old Bermuda Inn in Staten Island. Staten Island’s top police officers from 2016 were recognized by NYC Police Commissioner James P. O’Neill and the Chamber’s Safety and Security Committee.

Honorees were:

January: Officers Ryan Smith and Anthony Rubilotta, 121st Precinct

February: Officers Robert Gronock and Joseph Naranjo, 123rd Precinct.

March: Officers Daniel Slevin and Daniel Filak, 120th Precinct

April: Lt. Matthew Harrison, 120th Precinct.

May: Officers Joseph Wall and Michael Linder, 122nd Precinct

June: Sgt. Joseph Pollari, Det. Steven Lopez and Officer Rudy Anzalone, 120th Precinct

July: Officer Salvatore Corulla, 120th Precinct

August: Officers Juan Baez and Darya Keating, 122nd Precinct

September: Officers Michael Otterbeck, Kyle Erickson and James Biagini, 120th Precinct

October: Officers Robert Ramirez and Philip Alfano, 122nd Precinct

November: Officers Richard Browne and Brad Parascandolo, 120th Precinct

December: Officer Angel Espada, 122nd Precinct

Honorees received the Police Officer of the Month award for their daily commitment and service to borough residents. Police Officers Richard Browne and Brad Parascandolo of the 120th Precinct each received the Police Officer of the Year Award. This special ceremony occurs each year to recognize the NYPD’s commitment to protecting the Staten Island community.

The Staten Island Chamber of Commerce’s Safety and Security Committee was formed to educate the community on crime trends, solutions, and methods to protect the property and assets of local businesses. It holds seminars, workshops, and develops strategies to help protect businesses from crime, and ensure a safe and healthy working environment across Staten Island.

Every year, the group also serves as the selection committee for the Annual Police Officer of the Year Luncheon and the Annual FDNY Valor Awards Luncheon. Both events are held to honor Staten Island’s finest and bravest, and to continue the strong working relationship between the business community and the NYPD and FDNY.

Members of the 2017 Safety & Security Committee are Co-Chairs Gerald Amerosi of Gerald Peters Inc. and Salvatore Sottile of Sottile Security Services Inc., as well as committee members: Jennifer Carr of Allied Universal Security Services; Robert DeGennaro of Video Surveillance Corp; John DiCaprio of BNP Paribas; Stephen J. Luise of Classic Protection Security & Investigations; Thomas Mauro of Metro One Loss Prevention Services; and John Olivieri of Olivieri Investigations.